RSS

Friendship

25 Mar

Today in more ways than one, I have learnt a lot about friendship. I have reflected and I’m still reflecting on friendships I have had, still have and don’t have anymore.

As a young person (though some people say I’m not young again), I find myself asking some inward questions like: ‘Is it really worth it? Do my friends appreciate me? Do I have friends?

Shocking questions I know, but you may have found yourself asking the same questions too at some point in your life. I began to look back on past friendships that have ended and those that still exist. I compared and contrasted. So here’s what I discovered about a friend indeed:

My friend, my friend

How did I come to know you?

Remind me of that day when I saw you

Let’s reflect together on us two

Remind us how one plus one became twoMy Comfort

Aaaah! It was along the corridor, she said

Yes it was!! I replied

I can’t remember who said Hi first

But we were heading to the kitchen to quench our thirst

After the kitchen chat, each in our rooms laid to rest

I noticed you had an amazing sense of humor

Where you must have got it from, I tried to figure

Dad, mum or wherever, I loved your humor

Days passed, we talked a lot more

We became buddies.

We shopped together

Ran in the rainy weather

All the way it was laughter

IMG-20120628-00247

As time went on, I realized

Our lives were intertwined

You always knew when i needed you

I always called when you thought of me.

Pure co-incidence some say

It happened so many times I lost count

Our friendship still alive

Always fired up even after an argument

True friends they say, are hard to find

But I say a friend should be true

My Encouragement

So with the few years I’ve spent on this earth

I have made friends, friends have made me

Though few, I’m grateful even today

I’m happy to say

I have a friend or two; few

Friends that have taught me

A lesson or two

About friendship, in its true sense

 

There is a friend that sticks closer than a brother (Proverbs 18:24)

I have found such friends in ladies and gentlemen alike

I have seen Jesus in these friends of mine

Full of forgiveness and love

Joy and the gentility of a dove

Comfort and compassion

 

So to those friends who have been

And still are a part of my life

I love you and appreciate you

I hope I’ve been a friend to you

Just as much as you have been a friend to me.

God bless you.

 

Saula B

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 25, 2013 in March 2013, Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a comment